XOR operator js

I just started studying IT a month ago, so I’m a complete noob at programming. In our JS course we have a task to create a XOR operator for boolean valules, and I found a bunch of different possible solutions on this website http://www.howtocreate.co.uk/xor.html. The only one of those codes that works for me is ( foo != bar ). None of the other ones work for me, so there has to be something I’m doing wrong. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Let’s see your code.

Thanks for wanting to help me. I tried all the codes from the linked website.

var foo = 3; 
var bar = 2; 
(foo && !bar) || (!foo && bar); gives me false although it should be true.

var foo = 3; 
var bar = 2; 
(foo||bar ) && !(foo && bar); gives me false although it should be true.

var foo = 3; 
var bar = 2; 
(foo ? !bar : bar); gives me false although it should be true.

var foo = 3;
var bar = 2; 
(foo != bar); the only one that works for me, gives me true!

var foo = 3; 
var bar = 2; 
(!foo != !bar) gives me false although it should be true.

I looked at the link in your original post. Where did you get the idea to use 3 and 2 for your values of foo and bar? Both of your variables have bool values of true. To get your expected results, you need one of them to have a bool value of false.

I must’ve understood it all wrong. I thought it just checked if the value of the two different variables. Just like if I would do foo===bar and get false.

Ah. I see. Try using either foo = 1 & bar = 0, or you could even use foo = true & bar = false. The examples you’ve shared are meant to test bool values compared to each other.

Sorry for the nooby questions, but what exactly is the “point” of the xor checker? Is it just to check the boolean values?

No worries! We were all noobs at one time.

XOR is EXCLUSIVE OR. As you saw in your link, JavaScript doesn’t have an XOR operator. JavaScript only has the || operator.