Why does it print the return value to the console without console.log? And with quotes included?

https://www.codecademy.com/courses/javascript-beginner-en-Bthev-mskY8/0/1?curriculum_id=506324b3a7dffd00020bf661

Ok, I have some basic to moderate experience in other languages. My understanding from that experience, AND in everything I read elsewhere about Javascript, is that 'return' should NOT actually print anything to the console(or elsewhere) on its own. Yet that's exactly what's happening with this code.

Also, why is it actually printing the quotes as well. As in, it's printing things like this to the console -

"The result is a tie!"

instead of -

The result is a tie!

If I call the function inside a console.log, the quotes don't show though. Is this just some bug with Codecademy editor itself? Or a bug in my code or my understanding of Javascript?

var userChoice = prompt("Do you choose rock, paper or scissors?");
var computerChoice = Math.random();

if (computerChoice < 0.34) {
	computerChoice = "rock";
} 
else if(computerChoice <= 0.67) {
	computerChoice = "paper";
} 
else {
	computerChoice = "scissors";
} 

console.log("Computer: " + computerChoice);
console.log("User: " + userChoice);

var compare = function(choice1, choice2) {
    if (choice1 === choice2) {
        return "The result is a tie!";    
    }
    else if (choice1 === "rock") {
        if (choice2 === "scissors") {
            return "rock wins";  
        }
        else {
            return "paper wins";   
        }
    }
    else if (choice1 === "paper") {
        if (choice2 === "rock") {
            return "paper wins";    
        }
        else {
            return "scissors wins";
        }
    }
    else if (choice1 === "scissors") {
        if (choice2 === "rock") {
            return "rock wins";   
        }
        else {
            return "scissors wins";   
        }
    }
}

compare(userChoice, computerChoice);