Why do you need to go back and forth between CSS and HTML to enter code for CSS?/Why can’t it be done in just CSS?

Hello, I’m new to coding and am currently using Codecademy to learn the basics. I’ve already learned HTML and am now on my second lesson of CSS.

I am confused as to why I’m being taught to put certain style effects in style.css and separate styling effects in index.html.

Wouldn’t it make more sense to do all the styling in CSS?

Hello @design4985813316!! Welcome to the forums!! :grinning:

If I remember correctly, they were showing things like classes and ids.
If this is the case, for CSS to style something, it need an HTML element to work with, so they have you changing the HTML to specify which element will be styled.

One way to picture it would be CSS as paint. If a person wants their house painted but only tells the worker, “Go paint.” He has no clue what to paint. So giving HTML elements special attribute is like telling the man what to paint.

If this was not what you are reffering to let me know.

It could also have been that they were talking about inline styling, which is how you can keep your HTML and CSS in a single file. If so they were showing you multiple ways of styling, both have their own pros and cons.

Hi there, welcome to the forums!

Without a link to the specific exercise that you’re working on, it’s difficult to be sure, but…

If I remember correctly, the CSS lessons start off with some exercises where you style individual elements by doing something like this:

<p>This is some text and <span style="text-transform: uppercase; font-size: 36px;">this is some text I'd like larger and uppercase</span> compared to the rest of my paragraph</p>

which results in

(I’ve just put that paragraph element into an existing page I had, hence why it’s not the default black text on a white background).