Why Do I Have to Do This to Get the Values of the Keys?

Why do you need to put ‘word’ in to get the values of the keys?

because word contains the keys, and to get the values associated with the keys we need to do: dictionary[key]

of course we can get both keys and values if we want:

for key, value in d.iteritems():

or .items() for python3.

1 Like

That makes so much more sense - thanks!!!

I think I had the same question - but I still don’t understand. Nowhere in the exercise does it say that “word” contains the keys. Shouldn’t we be defining it? If so, how do we define it? Sorry I’m still a beginner but I’m trying to wrap my head around where the variables are coming from since there’s no mention of them in the exercise questions… I tried for “definition” for example because i thought the words in webster would be definitions, didn’t know it should be for “word”. If someone can please clarify i’d really appreciate it.

Many thanks,
r

Welcome to the forums. No need to apologize. We’re all learners here to help one another. :slight_smile:
What exercise is this? Is there a link?

Anyway…
The dictionary is “webster”. Dictionaries are comprised of keys and values. or, key: value
In this example, “word” is the key in the dictionary. To print keys in this example, the format is
print dictionary name[key]

Remember with loops, the general way to write a for loop is:
for (temporary variable) in (list variable): (action)

2 Likes

thank you :slight_smile: It’s the same exercise listed by OP https://www.codecademy.com/courses/learn-python/lessons/a-day-at-the-supermarket/exercises/lists--functions

Maybe I’ve missed something…

I’m not sure which section of the code is causing issues so I’ve added two possible scenarios.