Why always begin new lines with std: :cout<<

Hey, so I just completed the hello world Block letters project, and I’m wondering why I would spend all the time it suggests to rewrite std: :cout<< “whatever I want to say here \n”; at the beginning of every line when you can achieve the same results by just not ending the statement with a ; and simply beginning a new line with " more stuff I want to say \n" and then whenever you’re done writing just complete it with “the last thing I want to say”;

I’m brand new to coding so if it’s just to have good form and be more professional I understand I guess I’m just curious.

Hello @magios, welcome to the forums! Could you post the code, formatting it by using the information from this post, and a link to the exercise, please?

Welcome @magios!! :slightly_smiling_face:

As @codeneutrino said, when you ask a question in the forums, posting your code and a link to the lesson will help make your question easier to answer.

The block letters challenge confused me too, and I’m not entirely certain why they built it the way they did. My best guess is that it is simply to give you practice using std::cout << since users are still expected to be rather new to C++ at the point in the course when they give you the challenge.

Another way of looking at it is they simply choice one of several simple ways to display the block letters. One of which is how you proposed:

#include <iostream>

int main() {
  std::cout << " ####\n##  ##\n######\n##  ##\n##  ##\n";
}

The benifit of this method is as that you can condense the whole letter into a single std::cout. However doing this does take away from readability, with only a single letter in my example above, it takes a bit of thought to see what letter is being printed. And If I remember correctly you have to print out multiple letters in the challenge, which could quickly become very difficult to read.
Using the method they use can make it much easier to see what letter you are printing: