While Loops: Lists Exercise

Hey there everyone,

I am new to programming, and have been enjoying my time learning Python 3 these days! During one of the exercises about while loops, titled “While Loops: Lists” I came across a concept that I do not understand, and was wondering if someone can clarify this for me :slight_smile:

python_topics = ["variables", "control flow", "loops", "modules", "classes"]

length = len(python_topics)

index = 0

while index < length:

print("I am learning about " + python_topics[index])

index += 1

Can someone explain what “index” is doing in this code and explain how in the print portion the “python_topics” and “index” are interacting?

This would be very helpeful!

Thank you all in advance

What happens when you change this part: index += 1 ? What if you changed it to index += 2?

index refers to the particular item in the list. So, what is index = 0 referring to?
Remember, items are indexed in Python starting at 0. Also, what does len() do?
https://docs.python.org/3/library/functions.html#len

2 Likes

Hey there! thank you for replying so quickly, I really appreciate it.

Can I ask another question? On the topic of index, how does the index know which list it is referring to? lets assume our code had were two lists “python_topics” and “python_built_in_functions”, how would the index know which list it had to consider? Im not sure if this is a silly question, but if it makes sense, I would apreciate your thoughts on this!

Thanks in advance

wow…it just clicked…that was a very very very silly question…hahaha I will keep it up as a reminder…Thanks for helping out anyways…!!! apologies…

1 Like

Hey terawhiz50181,

The variable index is set to 0. It represents the indices of the python_topics list: [“variables”, “control flow”, “loops”, “modules”, “classes”]`
So, during the while loop, the print statement:

print("I am learning about " + python_topics[index]

will be evaluated as:

print("I am learning about " + python_topics[0])