Where to next?

Hello!

I am brand new to coding. I just completed the Code Foundations Pro course. I can definitely see myself loving it down the line. With that being said though, I have no idea where to go next. The reason I started coding was mostly because I always thought it was so fascinating. My other hobby is learning languages and the idea of learning code languages just seemed right.

I have a " the world is your oyster" approach to these new types of endeavors and just want to learn as much as I can. My question is where would I start for something like this?

I originally wanted to start learning Python but then I see articles that mention JavaScript is best to start off with. I had a couple people then tell me the opposite that it is actual Python. This is all new ground for me. I am eager to learn but I am overwhelmed by just how much options.

Thank in advance for anyone who chooses to respond to this!

Also, if some of you do not mind, I would love to know where you all started with your coding journeys!

1 Like

Both python and Javascript are an option, also depending on the direction you want to go in

Javascript is languages with more quirks then Python (in my opinion), so I would very likely choice python. Javascript is a good choice if you want to get into front-end web development

I started right here on codecademy, but quite a while ago. I think in 2015, although I am still active on the forum, I barely do any of the exercises anymore.

I eventually also consulted other resources: MDN (for html, css and Javascript documentation), the official python docs, udemy, edx, freecodecamp and codewars (solving challenges in language of your choice)

1 Like

Always take peoples’ advice with a grain of salt. It’s all subjective.

The key is to figure out what technologies (or jobs/careers) really interest you and what you would like to build and then go from there.
I’d suggest starting with Python–but, I’m biased. :joy: