Where to enter code to change text to colour?

Hi there,

I would like to practice using colour to change the website that I am working on. Maybe I have missed an important lesson, but I have not found any post that instructs me on where I should put the following code:

h1 {
colour:blue;
}

It just teaches me the code, which is great, but it does not help if I don't know where to put it.

Any help appreciated,
Thanks

CSS uses US spelling, so you'll need to change that to color.

That code will go into a file, that has a .css extension which you will link to from your HTML file.

Please ask more questions!

Hi, thanks for the spelling tip! I would never have noticed it, since I am so used to British English.

With regards to the .css extension that you are talking about: unfortunately I am a complete beginner and have no idea what that is. Is there not a simpler way to include code, like the way I have done below on Notepad++? It still does not work, but it would make sense to put it in there. Code Academy did not include an instruction for me on how to do this.

<html>
  <body>
<div class="nav">
    <div class="container">
	    <ul>
	        <li>Carna</li>
	        <li>Browse</li>
	    </ul>
	    <ul>
	        <li>Sign up</li>
	        <li>Log in</li>
	        <li>Help</li>
	   </ul>
	 </div>
</div>
<div class="jumbotron">
    <div class="container">
<h1>Find a place to stay.</h1>
    <p>Rent from people in over 34,000 cities and 192 countries.</p>
h1{
color:blue;
}
   	 </div>
</div>

Don't change it, i just made visible!

I was wondering why it was not the same like I have copied... may I ask how you have done that?

The simplest way is to create a file with a .css extension. Call it something like style.css.

Put it in the same folder/directory as your index.html file.

Link the two together in the <head> ... </head> of your index.html file. Like this:

<link rel="stylesheet" href="style.css">