What's the difference between Python lessons (inside Computer Science Career Path) and Learn Python 3 Course?

Hi everyone!

First of all, I’m sorry if this is not the correct chat to post this (in that case, please tell me which one and I’ll change it)

I’m completely new to all this. I’m sure that I want to become a programmer and I would like to start learning Python.
My question is for codecademy’s staff and/or all the people who have joined Computer Science career path and Learn Python 3 Course: What’s the difference between them (in terms of Python lessons)?

I mean, is the Python 3 course digging more in deep or it’s the same content than in Computer Science career path?

Thanks in advance!

I think it is the reverse. The Python 3 course is an introduction to the Python core… Syntax, built-in functions, etc. The CS course includes the heavy lifters like Numpy, MatPlotLib, etc. Start with Python 3 course then you are in a better position to handle the others.

2 Likes

That’s what I already did. I started with Python 3, then when I have joined it, I’ll start joining CS career path.

Thank you @mtf!!

2 Likes

Just chiming in here: the CS Path actually uses the same beginner content as the Python 3 course, but delves more into the traditional college-course topics of data structures and algorithmic searching and sorting. The Python 3 course serves as an excellent scaffolding for a large number of courses on our platform, including those in the CS Path and the Machine Learning Path as well. Depending on your intended outcome for your learning journey, you might find starting these paths to be a better experience than taking the course as-is. If your plan is to “learn the Python programming language” then the course couldn’t be a better fit! If it involves some other long-term goals a path might be more beneficial.