What should I do next as a programmer?

Hello World!

So, I’ve completed a couple of courses on HTML, CSS, and JavaScript online. All these courses have felt moderately easy to grasp. And trust me I had a really good time learning all the new technologies and concepts. But just after I completed all those lessons and thought about building a project or even writing some simple programs I found myself completely lost and bewildered.

I went through many videos and discussions about the kind of issues I was having. And guess what- I got more confused. Many say that online courses are too easy and made for absolute beginners which even I have come to accept. They suggested diving deep into coding and learning some advanced concepts. Some say that online coding environments are artificial and don’t give a whole lot of real coding experience and that I should code on my computer rather than some flimsy online text editor.

So I thought- okay, I’ve just scratched the surface now and need to go a long way. So I got this book **Eloquent JavaScript** which was highly recommended by the developer community. I went through the lessons and tried to understand each and every concept which I must say is very nicely put together. I completed the second chapter and went straight to the coding sandbox provided on https://eloquentjavascript.net/. And…you guessed it- I failed miserably. I couldn’t figure out a working solution to the very first problem let alone an efficient one. I gave up and looked at the solution which was pretty simple. It hit me really hard.