What languages do I need to learn for cybersecurity?

so i am new to pretty much all of this, i currently work in a call center for a dealer management software company, i do not want to stay in a call center and am very interested in cyber security and have been studying for CompTIA SY0-501. My question is, is there a specific language(s) that i should be studying with an end goal being an ethical hacker or systems analyst (have not locked on to one or the other since i am still very new to the industry as a whole).

1 Like

Hey, @jgeek2013. I’ve started learning cyber security as a subject for about 3 months now and from my very limited experience, I can say general purpose programming languages like Python can be a good place to start since they have a plethora of tools available to them. But, that’s just the tip of the iceberg. Learning more about the target systems and what language they are implemented on would be ideal if I understand this correctly. So, I say take the first step and start learning with python and then explore the world of cyber security a bit and then understand and learn more about what you should learn next. :smile:
Text me on Discord. I should be able to provide you with some starter material.

Here’s the link to the codecademy discord server: https://discord.gg/bmAnPmnZ
and you can find me here as Dharma [FB chapter leader].

6 Likes

Hey @jgeek2013! Thanks for asking this.

An all-round cybersecurity expert ideally knows a little of every language. However, there are specific languages to prioritize depending on different areas of expertise.