What is X and Y in this exercise?

Hi, I don't understand what is X and Y here in this exercise! Could anyone please explain what they are and what they do?

https://www.codecademy.com/en/courses/ruby-beginner-en-F3loB/2/1?curriculum_id=5059f8619189a5000201fbcb

Here is the code:

friends = ["Milhouse", "Ralph", "Nelson", "Otto"]

family = { "Homer" => "dad",
  "Marge" => "mom",
  "Lisa" => "sister",
  "Maggie" => "sister",
  "Abe" => "grandpa",
  "Santa's Little Helper" => "dog"
}

friends.each { |x| puts "#{x}" }
family.each { |x, y| puts "#{x}: #{y}" }

x is the key and y is the value.

Method .each iterates through the family dictionary. In the first iteration x = "Homer" and y = "dad", in the second iteration x = "Marge and y = "mom" etc...

Every dictionary consists of key => value pairs. x will hold actual key and y will hold actual value.

Hi I am a total newbie, just to clarify. According to what you mentioned above, if remove the Y, does that mean that it will purely just print the KEY instead? i.e. family.each { |x| puts "#{x}" }. However I tried removing Y, but it still print out both KEY and VALUE albeit in a different format. As shown in the picture

Oh, I am deeply sorry, it was not my intention to mislead you.

Ruby is a pretty smart language. family is a dictionary. Every dictionary consists of key => value pairs.

When we execute this code:

Ruby knows that we want to divide a single element of the family into two parts - x and y. And this is pretty natural for a dictionary, x is key, y is value.

But in this situation:

family.each { |x| puts "#{x}" }

we say that we don't want to divide elements of the family. Undivided, single element of a dictionary is a mentioned before key => value pair. And this is what you see in your output, for example ["Homer", "dad"] is a single element of the family where "Homer" is a key and "dad" is a value.