What is wrong with this code? Function to check user input (RPS)

Hi!!! I’m new to javascript, i’m trying to make the game to ask for the user input again, if one of the three valid options is misspelled or something. Sort of works, but only one time.I don’t understand why the while loop breaks after asking only one time to re-enter the text, even when the condition stored in valid is still false. Thanks!!!
Code below, JsBin here: http://jsbin.com/mitoziriqa/edit?js,console

```

//Ask for user input
var userChoice = prompt(“Do you choose rock, paper or scissors?”);
console.log("User: " + userChoice);
//check for correct input
var valid

function check(){
if (userChoice === “rock” || userChoice === “paper” || userChoice === “scissors”)
{valid = true;}
else {valid = false;}
}

check();
console.log("the user input is " + valid)

//Ask for user input again, if input is incorrect
while (!valid){
userChoice = prompt(“input not valid, please re-enter text”);
console.log("new user input is: " + userChoice);
check();
console.log("the new user input is " + valid);
}

//Computer choice
var computerChoice = Math.random();

if (computerChoice < 0.34)
{ computerChoice = “rock”; }
else if (computerChoice <= 0.67)
{ computerChoice = “paper”; }
else
{ computerChoice = “scissors”; }
console.log("Computer: " + computerChoice);

//Compare Choices
var compare = function (choice1, choice2) {
if (choice1 === choice2) {
return “The result is a tie!”;
}
else if (choice1 === “rock”) {
if (choice2 === “scissors”) {
return “rock wins”;
}
else {
return “paper wins”;
}
}
else if (choice1 === “paper”) {
if (choice2 === “rock”) {
return “paper wins”;
}
else {
return “scissors wins”;
}
}
else (choice1 === “scissors”);
{
if (choice2 === “rock”) {
return “rock wins”;
}
else {
return “scissors wins”;
}
}
};

// Give Results
result = compare(userChoice, computerChoice);
console.log(result);

<do not remove the three backticks above>

Be sure to end this statement with a semi-colon.