What is whitespacing?

Hi, I'm new to programming and I'm trying to learn a bit before I start a class in a few months. And I'm just going though the lessons again and I don't understand what whitespacing means and what it does :sweat_smile: If I could get some clarification on it that would be great! Thanks :slight_smile:

Im still confused on what It is :sweat_smile: Can you put it in simpler terms? Thanks

newline, carriage return, tab, space

It means:

if 'a' == 'a':
    #Whitespace is to the left, also known as indentation

Any character that only shows up as white space, as in showing just the background that the characters are printed on, is whitespace. Indentation usually consists of whitespace characters.

@thesquidcod in the most basic and simple terms when u press an enter key or a space bar or the tab key all give you white spaces..
for example when you press the spacebar the cursor moves one position forward leaving a blank space between two words. This blank space is known as a white space in programming language. The same applies to when you press tab and enter keys..
Hope this helps. :wink:

Excellent, thank you :slight_smile: my question is, but why? Why do you sometimes need to put four spaces in front of some lines? What purpose does it serve?

The lessons are telling me to do things and I want to know WHY I am!! haha

Indentation (which is whitespace, but not all whitespace is indentation) is part of the syntax of certain statements. For example, a function has a def keyword, then the name, then a list of arguments in parenthesis followed by a comma. After that follows the body of the function which is indented, in other words, when something is no longer indented it's no longer part of that function's body.

def f():
    inside body
outside

@tagsolver10022 see basically speaking the 4 white spaces are basically
done by using tab. And for your answer as to why we need those white spaces