What is the point of "return" and why is deposit void and withdraw an int?

Guys, I’m new to programming and I just don’t understand yet what the return function is doing here… what is it doing here and why is it only needed in the withdraw method? Why have it at all if deposit works just fine without the return function or why doesn’t the deposit method need a return function? Also, why is deposit void and the withdraw method an int? I mean, I see it as both are whole numbers so why shouldn’t both be ints… doesn’t make any sense to me. Help!

1 Like

Hello @design6013459543, welcome to the forums! The return keyword hands data back to the caller-it basically gives the program (code not in the function) the data that was made inside the function. Think of a program like an online delivery website. A function in this analogy is the order form. When you fill it out and submit it, you get a confirmation message. This is like System.out.println(). The data of your order, however, is sent to the the company to be processed-that is like return. Here is some more reading on return in Java.

Back to your other question:

In Java, when you declare a function, you have to specify what type of object it returns. If it returns an integer, you set int, if it returns a string, you set string. If the function does not return anything, you set void-which tells the program not to expect the function to return anything.

So, in answer to the question, deposit is a void as it does not return anything. withdraw is an int as it returns an integer (whole number). Here is an article that explains return/return types.

deposit and checkBalance do not need a return as they simply alter a variable-they don’t need to provide any data to the calling function (the part of the program that calls them). withdraw needs to give some data back to the calling function, and it therefore requires the return. This is some general reading on Java functions.

I hope this helps!