Web Development Framework Choice

I have completed ‘Web Development with Flask’ and ‘HTML&CSS’ paths at Codecademy. I am building my own web-application now. It is almost complete. Back-end is finished. Front-end is half-way there. My friends suggested that before I complete the font-end I go and learn JavaScript to make the visual appearance better. I’ve just had a look at JavaScript course and its estimated time is 30 hours - this is just the basics…

My question is: why is JS considered to be a better styling language than css? I have done a lot of research but I never quite got a clear answer. 9 out of 10 blogs say that JS is better for animation (that’s obvious and that’s true), but what about the rest? Is creating cool animation the only reason to learn JS?

Any help with suggesting why JS, or CSS is better in a (relative) field would be much appreciated. I am very new to Web Development, and it would be great to get advice from experience web developers. Thank you for reading to the end.

I’ll give you my two cents on this matter.

I personally could never be bothered much with front-end development. I design user interfaces with HTML and CSS. Because front-end ain’t exactly my cup of tea, I was never interested in delving too deeply into JS frameworks (usual suspects being React, Vue and Angular).

Now though, the thing with JS is that it enables you to add interactivity and convenience to your interfaces. Say, for example, that you wanted a comment section on your blog articles. Upon submit, rather than reloading the entire page, it’s much nicer to submit the form through AJAX and only the comment section would be reloaded. The result is immediate, no reloading of the page. That’s pretty cool, but it’s also what users have come to expect for a good few years now.