Web Dev vs Data Science paths

Hi community,

I am seeking advice regarding my current direction and whether I am studying the most-suited languages. Currently I am 28% through the Web Dev pathway and am starting to question whether the Data Science pathway would be more appropriate for me?
I am interested in creating applications, programs, software. E.g. Being able to participate in an open-source Git projects, maybe eventually being involved with assistive software for disabled people.

Initially the Web Dev path seemed like a good idea because I was already enrolled on the ā€˜Introduction to Javascript courseā€™ (before getting a Pro account) - also the Data Science path seemed daunting as I do not have an academic/scientific background or know anything about data analysis. The pathways are appealing to me because the teaching is done within a context and with real-life applications.

Python seems to have a reputation as a good, effective, programming language to learn, which perhaps is more appropriate for me. On the other hand I am aware that the skills from the Web Dev pathway could be potentially be transferred to programming if I was to use Electron.

Or perhaps I should just be patient and move onto Python after completing the Web Dev pathway?

Any feedback, signposting, guidance is very welcome.

Thank you,

Hello @tag4711444728, unless you had any direct hurry to get to the DS path (i.e. a job interview next month, or the like), I would finish the web development path, as it will teach you valuable skills, and if you go into assistive tech/creating applications, you might need to know a bit of web dev. Completely up to you, but personally, I would finish the web dev course, then do DS.
Happy coding!

3 Likes

Hi @codeneutrino

I really appreciate your response, thank you. I am not in a rush at all, so I will finish the Web Dev path first.
Cheers!

2 Likes