Using mutable class variables

Can I raise a topic on here about using mutable class variables?

I’ve noticed that in the python documentation that it is frowned upon to use a mutable instance variable such as a list and it’s plainly stated that this is wrong.

For example, for the reasons stated above a list (any mutable type) should not be used as a class variable and instead used as an instance variable.

But, I was thinking, is there not some use cases where using a mutable class variable would be acceptable?

For example, a class variable list to store each object that is created so that each object has access to all other objects that have been created. I.e a Student object that wants to talk to all other Student objects.

Could you help me understand why the documentation is worded like this. I feel I may be missing the point or possibly overthinking it and maybe the documentation is just stating the norm.

I’m no expert but I can see one possible use case… If the class variable is to be a default list or dictionary that all instances can access, as well as the class itself, but which can be modified by an instance to customize it. Will need to play with this when I get a chance to try and come up with an example. Gotta go, right now but I’ll leave this topic open for when I get back.

Disclaimer… We can do lots of things with Python that are not recommended. Use cases are by discretion.

Hi @mtf,

thanks for your insight and hopefully can revisit this topic again soon

Please provide us with a link to the specific documentation to which you are referring.

Hi,

the link I’m referring to is https://docs.python.org/3.7/tutorial/classes.html and is in section 9.3.5: