Using JavaScript in VS code

I feel like a total newb for asking this question, but I’ve googled and searched the forum for hours and can’t figure out the problem. So here it is:

I want to make a simple game using the Magic 8 Ball project as a base. So, I started by copying what I used to make the project into VS Code. I haven’t used JS in VS code yet, just HTML and CSS. I tried to run the program in VS code through the integrated terminal and I get the error message below:

I can’t figure out what I’m doing wrong. How do I get the code to run in VS Code? It ran perfectly here in the project workspace. So, I’m not sure if it’s my laptop, VS Code, or I’m just trying to do something I’m not supposed to because I’m new at this. Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,
Kami

jscript does not seem to be the same as javascript:

https://www.educba.com/javascript-vs-jscript/

well close, but not exactly the same. Maybe Jscript is stricter on the semi-colons? Anyway, i would just recommend you to use your browsers JS engine to make life easier for yourself

My understanding is that JScript is simply Microsoft’s implementation of JS, originally to avoid some copyright issues. The two ought to be the same, though I think there are some IE-specific extensions to JScript which aren’t present in “standard” JavaScript…

(It’s a bit like how there’s little variations in how you do things in SQL on a Microsoft DB or an Oracle one… unless they’ve both standardised themselves since I last went near Oracle…)

The error is pretty clear on the matter; you’re missing a semi-colon at line 1, char 5.

If you’d also posted the code, we’d be able to check whether the error is right or not. :slight_smile:

I understand where the error is and how to fix it. That was actually the first thing I tried, but then it gave me about 6 more before I stopped trying and when I looked back at the code, it didn’t make sense anymore. Here’s the code without the changes:

let userName = ’ ';