Understanding "Raise" for raising errors

https://www.codecademy.com/courses/learn-python-3/lessons/python-control-flow/exercises/try-and-except-statements

I’m not understanding how exactly the keyword “raise” is used.

I can’t see the lesson, as I’m not a Pro user, so I don’t know what context around the raise keyword is already provided in the lesson.

What I can explain, however, is that raise is used in Python to raise exceptions. The simplest way I can explain an exception is that they are errors which make themselves known during the execution of your program.

Let’s use a very basic example:

a = 100
b = 10

while b >= 0:
    out = "One %dth of %d is %d!" % (b,a,(a/b))
    print(out)
    b = b - 1

print("Done")

My simple little program above is just calculating fractions of 100. There are no syntax errors in the program, so Python will happily start executing it like so:

Python 3.6.1 (default, Dec 2015, 13:05:11)
[GCC 4.8.2] on linux

One 10th of 100 is 10!
One 9th of 100 is 11!
One 8th of 100 is 12!
One 7th of 100 is 14!
One 6th of 100 is 16!
One 5th of 100 is 20!
One 4th of 100 is 25!
One 3th of 100 is 33!
One 2th of 100 is 50!
One 1th of 100 is 100!
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "test.py", line 5, in <module>
ZeroDivisionError: division by zero

Here we can see I’m getting a ZeroDivisionError - because my while loop doesn’t stop when the divisor (b) is equal to one. This is an example of an exception.

There are two broad types of exceptions: handled exceptions, which you have anticipated in your code and have written more code to deal with, so they don’t crash your program; and unhandled exceptions, which your program didn’t expect and doesn’t know how to deal with.

In my case, I have an unhandled exception in the form of a ZeroDivisionError.