Trying to code on my own machine - Q's

Hello all, noob here, following the Data Science path (17%), intending to complete Full Stack Engineer path next. Codecademy has suggested I learn to code on my own machine so I’ve installed miniconda, jupyter notebook, and gitbash on my windows pc by following the tutorials. I also completed the Command Line course. Everything seems to be working but I think I’m missing some basic concepts.

For example, on the Hurricane Analysis project, I downloaded the linked files and tried opening them in Jupyter Notebook. Opening ‘script.py’ takes me to a text editor window; I don’t see how to run the code I am trying to write. I hoped I could use the cells and other features to help me solve the challenge.

I also tried opening the file ‘script.py’ in git bash using ‘python script.py’ and got:
‘Python was not found; run without arguments to install from the Microsoft Store, or disable this shortcut from Settings > Manage App Execution Aliases.’ I’m probably missing some components here. The tutorials don’t say much about how to use git bash, just that git bash is better than cmd, though miniconda is recommended and it seems to use windows cmd commands, which I am not familiar with.

I am also studying CS50x, the intro to computer science course and that course tells me the staff doesn’t support windows pc, they all use macOS.

I have an informal mentor who is a senior architect. He tells me his team uses linux/mac and he recommends VS Code. He basically grunted when I told him I was learning on a windows pc, and he didn’t seem familiar with jupyter notebook. I could probably handle the expense of a macbook air but I have no experience with macOS and that seems like another way to fragment my time & efforts this early in the learning process. I spent a few hours today researching this but I think because my questions are so basic I’m not coming up with useful keywords to search.