Tried to replicate Magic 8 Ball on python - what am i doing wrong?

Maybe this is a dumb question… but I’m pretty new to all of this and I heard that it’s very important to have python installed on your computer so you can try out your new knowledge as you go.
I figured out the magic 8 ball project and decided to try and make my own version… didn’t work. Python came up with errors. I just figured I did something wrong and came here and copied the answer key to try instead… also wrong?

I really know nothing about coding and computers - I just love math and puzzles. Anyone able to help me out? I don’t even know if I’m using python correctly… :pensive:
here’s my version…

to make a condition for equality we use == not = so change these conditions from random_number = 1 to random_number == 1 and do that for elifs too.

also, change the last two lines to:

print(name, "wants to know", question)
print("Computer says", answer)

========================
you should write your code in the file opened on the right side of your screenshot, and then click f5 or click run so the code will run in the left side window.

======================
I highly encourage you to start learning coding seriously. you will really love the combination of creative and logical problem-solving skills you will use when writing code. So make some efforts to take your skills to the next level :boom:.

2 Likes

ahhhh thank you! fixed my mistakes - the biggest thing here is that I had no clue about hitting f5 …
Does Code Academy bother to teach us how to use the actual application? or just the programming? It is not intuitive for a newbie

1 Like

f5 isn’t a standard way to run codes it’s just relatable to the editor you are using, and there is a lot of editors you can use to write python.