Thread Shed Tasks 11-12

Hi,
I’ve been working on the "Thread Shed’ project in Learn Python 3. For some reason, when I follow the Codeacademy solution up to Tasks 11-12; each desired list ends up being repeated 4 times per list.
I was wondering if people knew whether this was a problem they have encountered, as I have followed the solution line-by-line.

Thanks!

Do you have code to post to illustrate this?

1 Like

Hi,
Thanks for your reply!
I don’t know if I’m allowed to paste the code directly here (I’m relatively new to coding here & it’s a PRO course), but I’ve attached the link to the exercise:

https://www.codecademy.com/courses/learn-python-3/projects/thread-shed

I’ve made corrections and written exactly the same thing as Matt in the ‘Get Unstuck’ video, so I wanted to check if this is a bug or not.

I suspect it might be to do with the respective indexation in the final for loop , to get the customers, sales and thread_sold list.

1 Like

Ah there’s always a risk sticking too close to a solution. You do make an interesting observation though, it repeats 4 times. That could be useful debugging information. There are very few places in your code that are designed to repeat. Following that thread a little further, does one of them perhaps repeat 4 times?

Perhaps something is repeating that you don’t want to repeat?

If you can't quite clock the error

This is a pretty common query that trips up a lot of users and a quick search will find you dozens of threads covering this problem.

1 Like

I think if it has repeated for you as well, it’s likely a bug in the exercise (which I’ve already suggested).
It’s unusual because every term in the initial ‘daily sales’ dataset seems to figure 4 times; and I think the only thing that could be linked to that is each transaction contains 4 terms.

Thank you for everybody’s help!