This whole section is a disaster

I've been programming in PHP and Java for a few years now and I've burnt through the course so far because all I have to learn is Python's syntax and get familiarised with the built-in functions.

This section has almost reduced me to tears - it's very poorly put together. The explanatory text is much too light given the solutions involve remembering barely explored built-ins (eg. .join() and .split(), as well as a lot of the type casting evidently necessary in Python), but that would be nowhere near as large an issue if you were able to debug your scripts properly; if you fail you can't even begin to debug your script, you're reliant purely on the compiler debug message popups.

It's utterly maddening and is completely putting me off finishing the course - I'm only muddling through to get to the later topics, and at present it's feeling like I'd learn a lot more, a lot faster, if I just forked a project off GitHub. If i was just starting out learning how to code this section would probably put me off programming entirely.

Either the hints and instructional text need dramatic improvement, or this section should be either skippable or just plain cut. And you should definitely be able to view the full output in the terminal frame in the event of an error.

I am going to get a lot of hate for this, but here we go anyway.

This section actually pushes your programming to the next level, because you have to design the program and find the function you need. For this, you can check earlier exercises, python docs, notes if you made them. You can write pseudo code if you want

Is it difficult? Yes, absolutely. Is it frustrating? Yes, absolutely. Will you get stuck? Yep, but that is what the forum is for, to get help. Is it good to do this section again later? Yep.

The lightweight instructions is what makes it programming, with heavy instructions its coding. Coding != Programming. Coding is so much more, and so much more difficult.