The application of what codeacademy teaches

I’ve recently started learning here in codeacademy, and you could say that I’m new to this world of programming.
I chose the Computer Science path, but I can’t find an explanation anywhere as to how are we to apply all the material that we’re being taught here. So for example, I’m studyin python here, but I couldnt really figure out: a) what Python is being used FOR
b) after i’ve mastered the python syntax and techniques, how do I use it outside of codeacademy? how do I use python (as an example) to create a program with a graphic interface for users, outside of the codeacademy practice sheet? in other words, how do I take a program I created in python and make it look like a legitimate user friendly program?
are these questions the courses here cover?
I hope I made my questions clear! thanks in advance!

python is used in a lot, from build modules to data science and back-end web development.

Building a GUI with python is not so common. Although there libraries available (PyQT en kivy come to mind). But python would not be my first choice for a GUI app. Depending on platform and other things, i would very likely Java or C# for GUI programming.

There is also tkinter, but that is more for practice. That GUI looks old, like it was made over a decade ago.

Its not something the course covers, codecademy mostly focuses on teaching programming concepts.

2 Likes

For Python specifically I’m not sure, but in general the big self-working projects provided are really good for actually seeing how all this comes together in practise. There’s also nothing to stop you coming up with your own projects, for example I was learning HTML, CSS and JS, and I’m using it to build a fully interactive periodic table on my own time and from scratch. For C++ and Java I’m working towards building my own small games, helped largely due to the self-working projects.