Text editor + Windows or Mac for web development?

Hi,
I'm new at Codecademy. I have just finished the "Learn HTML" section, and I'm starting "Learn CSS" section.
I would like to start experimenting my fresh knowledges on a text editor.
Do you know some very good text editors to download for a beginner like me. I use Windows 8.
Also, is it better to work with Mac if I want to become a web developer and get a job in the future ?

Thank you very much for your help.
David

atom is good, which exist for all major platforms (linux, mac and windows)

web development is a lot of Linux, so yes, you could use macOS to get familiar with unix based operating systems.

Some people will say Windows will do for coding, this opinions are divided. On server side, Linux is bigger then windows

Thank you for your help Stetim. I think I have to invest in a new laptop with Mac, as I want more chance to get a job in the (more or less distant) future.

You can also get some very good unix type shells for Windows that can simulate much of the terminal commands that @stetim94 may be referring to. You're not putting yourself behind by using Windows at all.

Atom is great and free so yeah, that's a good editor to use.

Aside: I personally only use Mac because I'm a Mac guy, though when it comes to learning any machine with a browser will do. You could even use a Raspberry PI if you want a fun, affordable Linux machine to experiment with.

Ok thank you for your advices Chrinkus. So windows for learning is fine. But still thinking about Mac :slight_smile:
As I know windows, I need to be familiar with Mac too. I will search for an affordable laptop which can do web development.
Your help guys is great for me.

Why? I would just go for Linux, its free. Given many servers in web development run Linux, being familiar with Linux gives you more of advantage then using a mac