Tar file extraction

http://optima.jrc.it/Resources/DCEP-2013/DCEP-extract-README.html
I've installed python and the wget module.
I'm trying to extract bilingual couple of sentences from two bz2 files and I follow the instructions reported in the url above but the command prompt returns me this:

File "", line 1
tar jxf DCEP-DA-LV.tar.bz2
^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

the "wget " command works fine but not the "tar" one. I'm a newbie to python so I fon't know what I have to do..... in the reference code page there is no much information to work around this issue.
My computer runs W10. Is there any problem with that?

wget http://optima.jrc.it/Resources/DCEP-2013/langpairs/DCEP-DA-LV.tar.bz2
tar jxf DCEP-DA-LV.tar.bz2

That isn't valid python code, perhaps you googled how to use tar and found that.
tar is a program typically found on linux and probably on other unix-like systems as well. But you're not using that program, you're using python, presumably the tarfile module. So you would need to use what that module makes available to you (which certainly doesn't involve changing python's syntax)

thank you ionatan for your quick feedback!
Frankly, I have not much a clue on what I'm doing... I mean I'm a newbie in Python and I copied-pasted the codes I found in the reference page.
Do you know what code I have to use in the command prompt? the file python should work on is "DCEP-DA-LV.tar.bz2"
or can you suggest me any webpage where I could find that info?
thanks

The place to look would be the module's documentation:
https://docs.python.org/3/library/tarfile.html
(change the 3 to 2 if you're using python2)
There are some examples near the bottom, and the description or name of the function you're looking for probably involves the word "extract" so you could also search for that and see if the description matches what you want.