def rental_car_cost(days):
  cost = 40 * days 
  if days >= 7:
      cost -= 50 
  elif days >= 3: 
      cost -= 20 
  return cost 

def trip_cost(city, days, spending_money):
  return rental_car_cost(days) + hotel_cost(days - 1) + plane_ride_cost(city) + spending_money

HERE COMES THE PROBLEM:

trip_cost(‘Los Angeles’, 3, 0) returned 855 instead of the correct value 995

However, all the values are the ones that I was asked to put in, thus my bewilderment. But then again, I am an extreme rookie with programming so perhaps I can’t see the obvious. Help much appreciated! :slight_smile:

the difference between the correct and incorrect total is 140, which is the cost of a night. I am afraid that this program needs the same amount as days and night when going on a holiday

Cheers for bringing my attention to it. It worked!
All the best!

So it seems to me like the exercise needs to be corrected. In the lesson 5/7, it is explained that we converted the variable [night] into [days - 1] for the [hotel_cost] function so that we only have to deal with 2 parameters for the function [trip_cost]: days and city. This makes sense as you won’t be staying at the hotel on the day in which you’re leaving the vacation destination.

But the issue arises when we move to lesson 6/7, which doesn’t account for this [days - 1 ] conversion for the [nights] variable.

So in lesson 6/7, we’re staying for the same number of nights as days, which is

1. false, per the explanation from lesson 5/7.
  2. in direct contradiction to what was established in lesson 5/7.

I think the script checker for lesson 6/7 should be corrected so that the values for the hotel_cost portion of the [trip_cost] function should be [days - 1] and not [days] to match the information provided in lesson 5/7.

It didn’t use to be days - 1, but i agree that its a good addition, but then the exercise validation doesn’t seem to have been updated, let me check. I will get back to you.