Switching to Linux - which distro?

Hi everyone!

I’ve started my journey into programming a few months ago. I’ve been using windows so far, but have repeatedly heard that any programmer should eventually develop into Linux. I have no computer-related background, not command line xperience. But my take on the matter is: why wait; why not start getting used to it already. So that’s what I’ll do.

But which distro should I aim for, as a software developer? Ubuntu / Arch / OpenSUSE? I hear Open is where the pros hang out, but at the same time, from watching youtube videos, it sounds it may be simpler than Arch in some ways, while Ubuntu has a larger community it seems.
So, within the community using Linux, especially if you have experience with more than one distro: why do you use/prefer a specific distro?

Thanks!
Pedro

2 Likes

I first started with Linux Mint. I liked the system, and I soon switched on over to a Debian type OS and enjoy it very much as my current. I work with the Terminal almost every day, and it’s easy to handle. (me and the terminal get along great :wink: ). I’ve been able to work with this OS easily. It’s fast and lightweight (as many of the OSes are).

I have never used Ubuntu/Arch/OpenSUSE, but have seen it on other forums and hear people talk about them. I suggest doing some research on the different OSes and see which one suits you. Compare: security, how easy it is to use, features, etc.

(Also… Dont worry about how the OS looks, because you can change those things too)

Plus, you could get a virtualbox and try them out there to get a feel for it first before --if you decide-- to dual-boot.

There’s LOTS of experienced people in all the Linux/Ubuntu/etc communities, so if you run into a problem, dont worry, there’s lots of info out there :slight_smile: .

I hope this helps :slight_smile: Linux is great :smile:

3 Likes

Thanks a lot for your feedback Ria!

What made you switch from Mint?

2 Likes