Struggles along Web Development

Hi everyone! I’m somewhat new to web development! (Started around a month ago) I’ve gotten to be point where when I get errors in my code, I get really confused and anxious. I’m not sure if this is because I’m still in high school and that I can’t digest this or if I just have to have patience? Does anyone have anything tips on how to motivate themselves when coding? Thanks!

Hello @jnijnijni. When you get anxious/confused because of errors, take a step back and stop. Even go for a walk/take a day off. I presume you’re working with JS. JS errors are really quite descriptive. The best way, I find, in getting through errors is to read them carefully. They will often tell you exactly where the problem is. So, to fix many problems, just pause for a minute, even re-think what you need to do, then go back, and read the error, and your code. Also, Google is very much your friend; look things up that you don’t get and don’t be afraid to revisit topics that you’ve already done.

You definitely need to have patience. Take breaks, and revisit any topics that you are struggling with. If you are finding it difficult to digest things, slow down. Don’t rush ahead when you don’t need to, and slow down to a speed that allows you to easily take things in. Another thing I find is to set myself very small projects, which should utilise the skills I’ve just learnt. This helps you to cement knowledge. Also, when doing these projects, you will definitely need to look things up on the Internet/books (things like a specific built-in function; however, you shouldn’t be looking up major syntax-quite reviews are ok), as you should be setting projects that push your comfort zone, but not find yourself too far out of your depth.