Staying Motivating and Managing time

I am going through the Full-Stack Engineer Career Path and am about 4% complete. I do enjoy it and I have some experience with coding so it’s not too bad, and have a ways to go.

I was wondering if any parents have tips for learning, time management, making consistent progress, and staying motivated while raising a 15-month-old to get thru the career path.

1 Like

I’m working on the same career path (Full-Stack Engineer Career Path). I’m currently at 12% and I have a little experience with coding also. I’m not a parent and but I’ve raised 6 younger siblings and help care for my infant nephew so hopefully I can provide some insight.

Nap times are a great time to log on and do some studying while the baby sleeps. Sometimes it helps to have a scheduled time when you know someone else is going to be having quality time with the baby and you can have some full focused study time. Like Dad having a half hour that he and baby hang out or maybe an aunt/uncle/grandma/grandpa has the baby once a week for an hour or two.

If nothing else after the baby is asleep and before you hit the hay it help to squeeze in 15-20 minutes that way you have that progress if nothing else and end the day on a victory.

Often if you tell your family what your goals are and let them know any child care help would be appreciated no matter how small.

Also I don’t know if this pertains to the core of your question but when it comes to meal prep crock pot meals and one pot meals are a life saver because with a crock pot you do the work at the beginning of the day and then by dinner time all you have to do is serve it up. One pot meals can be super easy and simple. Soups, stews, pasta dishes, a salad with a protein.