Stack question

from node import Node

class Stack:
  def __init__(self, value = None):
    self.top_item = Node(value)

class Stack:
  def __init__(self):
    self.top_item = None

I am a beginner and learning stack for the first time. Above the two constructor seems to do the same thing. But I don’t quite get it. what does it mean when you set a node to None? and self.top_item is not even an instance of class Node. why does it act like one?

You must select a tag to post in this category. Please find the tag relating to the section of the course you are on E.g. loops, learn-compatibility

When you ask a question, don’t forget to include a link to the exercise or project you’re dealing with!

If you want to have the best chances of getting a useful answer quickly, make sure you follow our guidelines about how to ask a good question. That way you’ll be helping everyone – helping people to answer your question and helping others who are stuck to find the question and answer! :slight_smile:

Hi again,

This has to do with the concept of having optional paramaters

def some_function(required_A, required_B, optional_C = None):

It means that when you call the function, you only need to give A and B (and choose not to give C if you don’t need it).

The importance of this is that you don’t make a statement in the body of the function that says optional_C = None, because every time you call that function, C will be None even though you may need it to not be.

Notice the difference:

def some_function(required_A, required_B, optional_C = 0):
   result = required_A + required_B
   result += optional_C
   return result

some_function(1, 2)
# returns 3

some_function(1, 2, 3)
# returns 6
# without the optional parameter
def some_function(required_A, required_B):
   c = 0
   result = required_A + required_B
   result += c
   return result

some_function(1, 2)
# returns 3

some_function(1, 2, 3)
# throws an error