Sooo...can we remove courses from our dashboards yet?

I’m really confused because I feel like this is an essential feature that should have been implemented into the dashboard from day 1.

Apparently, this request goes back to 2016 :neutral_face:

And @phoenixgirl898 is right. This is a post from 2016 where ryan, a Codecademy Advisor would say:

Unfortunately, it’s not possible to remove courses or paths from your dashboard at this time. While several users have requested this feature, we don’t have a timeline for it right now.

If you really want to clean up your dashboard, you can create a new account .

^ So this hasn’t been on the “timeline” for 4 years? Got it.

Here’s the general consensus I’ve observed from users and moderators…

  1. People finish a course and don’t need to see it on their dashboard cluttered with other courses that they are currently taking:

[ok the quoting feature decided not to work anymore but…] cloudplayer12621 said:

yeah this is nuts. I signed up for codeacademy 2 years ago to learn SQL. I have now been using SQL everyday for 2 years and have no need to continue the courses. yet I cannot delete them.

the moderator followed up with this message and then locking the thread…

zainabr1Moderator Emeritus said:

Reset course feature has been added to courses main page

this feature does not solve the problem of removing a course from the dashboard, and simply resets the progress of a course. This feature would soon later cause some confusion with those trying to remove a course from the dashboard (TLDR below):

  1. Some people accidentally join paths/courses This example is a bigger overarching problem with clarity on how paths connect to courses that some people may already be taking, but it still was caused by and made much much worse by the lack of a remove course from dashboard feature.

7 days ago:

TLDR: This guy tried to remove a path from his dashboard that he accidentally joined, but instead reset the progress for a subsequent course in that path that he was actually taking. Oh, and it didn’t get removed from his dashboard of course.

  1. Some people have taken outdated courses (i.e. Python 2 -> Python 3) and would like to remove it from their dashboard to reduce clutter:

the moderator would respond:

Really!? Create a new account in order to remove a course from a dashboard? How is that at all efficient? You can’t transfer progress to the new account, so there’s literally no point in doing that. Like the moderator says, this “fix” resets all progress from all courses, so I am very very confused about that response, plus the lack of any need to add the feature that without it creates such an inefficient workaround.

Can we please get a remove course/path from the dashboard feature?

If there is a problem with that, I think it would be helpful explaining briefly why this is such a complicated process to add such a feature to the team’s timeline.

Making a new account or telling people to use the reset progress button does not work, and shouldn’t be unanimous with the ‘remove from the dashboard’ feature anyway. And as we saw above with @slacle, this actually further confuses things.

Also, if someone wants to reset a path in general, either clarify and show the specific courses that they have in progress in that path that will be reset, or don’t reset those ‘in progress’ courses at all.

Ultimately, many people feel like this should have been added a long time ago, and telling us to make a new account and lose all of our progress instead of bringing some clarity as to why the request can’t be fulfilled is kind of weird tbh.

Hello, @bazeroni

I don’t think you’ll find much, if any, disagreement from anyone here. Perhaps, @lilybird or @alyssavigil, when they have some time, could investigate, and fill us in on whether there are any plans to add the desired feature to the main CC site?

3 Likes