So what is the difference between isinstance() and type() really?

^ From here.

But I don’t understand what they mean by subclass and how it relates to isinstance()? When it checks subclass (or whatever) does it look outside of scope? What does the person mean by base?

type() can only tell us an instance’s parent class.

>>> class Foo:
	pass

>>> class Bar(Foo):
	pass

>>> b = Bar()
>>> type(b)
<class '__main__.Bar'>
>>> type(b) == Bar
True
>>> type(b) == Foo
False
>>> 

This we know to be misleading, since b is a subclass instance of Foo.

>>> isinstance(b, Bar)
True
>>> isinstance(b, Foo)
True

How is b a subclass of Foo in that statement? I’m not good at reading that

class Bar(Foo):

Bar is a subclass of Foo as indicated in the parens. This says that Bar extends or inherits from Foo. Another way of describing the two is, Foo is the super class and Bar is the derived class. Any methods and attributes that Foo has, Bar will inherit.

Oh ok. So does isinstance and type work with (for example) detecting integers that aren’t strictly integers?

Eg. In python 3, if a number is input by a user through an input() and then stored in a variable say input_mem. Would that be an integer if it’s checked with isinstance or type?

Let’s check what happens…

>>> a = input('enter an integer: ')
enter an integer: 42
>>> type(a)
<class 'str'>
>>> isinstance(a, int)
False
>>> 

Sidebar

Do you have a Python shell on your computer, or do you keep a sandbox open (repl.it, etc.) to try out expressions and statements?

No, actually I just use IDLE

That’s the same shell I use. Is it Python 3?

A few days ago in another topic the discussion was centered around returning a number from user input. In Python there is no way to check if a string is a number without actually invoking the float() or the int() constructor and seeing if it raises an exception.

def get_int():
    while True:
        a = input('Enter an integer: ')
        try:
            return int(a)