Slightly Advance Question about Search Text

Hi guys, I just finished

https://www.codecademy.com/en/courses/javascript-beginner-en-XEDZA/0/7

I’m not stuck. I have passed the lesson. Thus, the topic is slightly out of the ordinary exercise (still falls under this category).

The lesson offer another challenge, that is:

Think about how you might fine-tune this program to make sure it only finds exact matches for your name.

I know, again, I’m just a novice coder. But, I would really like to try push the limit with my current limited knowledge (which is not much to begin with), to see whether I can solve that situation.

So, to quote the situation better, I would like to refer to this discussion here

Back to my code. myName = “Ryan”. Naturally, you would want to search for only your name to be printed out. This case, I have tinkered my code to have different variation of Ryan, (ie: Rya, Ryeg etc). I want to avoid printing anything starts with “R” or not exactly “Ryan”.

So, I arrived into very amateur solution, the full code below:

var text = "do re mi Ryan do re mi Rya do Re mi Ryeg do dRae mi Ryan";

var myName = "Ryan";

var hits = [];

for (i=0; i<text.length; i++) {
    if (text[i] === myName[0]) {                //when "R" is found
        if (text[i+1] === myName[1]) {          //when text[i+1] equals to "y"
            if (text[i+2] === myName[2]) {      //when text[i+2] equals to "a"
                if (text[i+3] === myName[3]) {  //when text[i+3] equals to "n"
                    for (j=i; j<myName.length+i;j++) { //only then push the alphabet
                        hits.push(text[j]);
                    }
                }
            }
        }
    }
}

if (hits.length === 0) {
    console.log("Your name wasn't found!");
} else {
    console.log(hits);
}
Code

var myName = "Ryan";

var hits = [];

for (j=i; j<myName.length+i;j++) { //only then print the alphabet
                        hits.push(text[j]);
                    }
                }