Simple Question - Store the results of functions in variables

I’m an absolute beginner but this simple part of my cointoss program has been driving me a bit mad. Whenever I input ‘heads’, it still returns 0 outside the function… what am I doing wrong? I also acknowledge there are premade functions that can probably do all of this much more efficiently. I’m just trying to get my hands dirty so to speak. See code below, thanks! :smiley:

def coinpick(playerpick):
    coinchoice = input ("...and up it goes! Heads or Tails?\n").lower()
    if coinchoice == "heads":
        print ("\nOk")
        playerpick = 1
        print (playerpick)
        return playerpick
    elif coinchoice == "tails":
        print ("\nAlright")
        playerpick = 0
        print (playerpick)
        return playerpick
    else:
        print ("\nWay to mess up a simple cointoss. Let's try this again...")
        coinpick()

coinpick(playerpick)

test = input("Playerpick was " + str(playerpick))
print (test)

You ask for input after calling your function. You’d need time travel capabilities to make it have an effect on how your function runs.
You’re also using variables that have not been defined.

Oh, you ask for input both inside and outside the function …Why?

If I start removing things that don’t do anything, or does things it shouldn’t, I end up with…

def coinpick(coinchoice):
    coinchoice = coinchoice.lower()
    if coinchoice == "heads":
        return 1
    elif coinchoice == "tails":
        return 0
    raise ValueError("expected heads or tails, got " + str(coinchoice))

(Added the exception at the end, there’s no sensible response so it should raise an exception if that happens)

Your function is both taking input and classifying it, that sounds to me like the function has too many jobs. Or if it’s just supposed to do “everything”, then there shouldn’t be any code outside the function.