Should kids learn real coding, or stick to 3rd party programs like Code Monkey or Scratch?

I’m a little confused. Should kids start out with Scratch or Code Monkey, or go straight to learning real coding. Which should I choose, and why? Would kids become discouraged?

Depends on the age i would say.

When i whas around 13 i whas amazed when i saw some upperclass schooler code mario. This got my interest and is why i started coding. But i dont know if i would have gotten into it if i never saw any visual result.

It is hard to code and even harder when it takes long to see results.

So if the kids choose for it it might be good to give them a taste of real coding (it should be basic and with results tho).
If the kids dont choose for it. it might be better to use a 3rd party. This way you can be sure they atleast get the basics to become interested.

This is my opinion tho.

Well @biirra, pretty much after that they need to do ACTUAL coding. They can’t just keep doing 3rd party.

So what would be basic if starting with real coding? I personally think Python might be good.

Do you mean that coding is mandatory on schools now ?

Also if you understand the coding structure (if/else statements and stuff) that is still very obviously visible in 3rd party programs you wont be that surprised when you start actual coding. It looks very similar.

for example (created with scratch):

is almost identical to (Javascript):

if( 1 === 1){
	playSound("Meow");
}else{
	stopAllSounds();
}

Coding is not mandatory yet. Most schools are starting to have coding classes now. I know, Scratch is basically JS, but slightly easier.

I don’t know which language is best for beginners.

To be honest i don’t think there is a “best” language for beginners. Since i am not a teacher and far from a professional myself i don’t feel comfortable answering this.

You could maybe ask/discuss this with other teachers from schools.