Sentiment Analysis Python Script

Hi all,

Is anyone able to help me understand the code below? The context behind it is to build a model that is used to predict how positive or negative a new word/phrase/sentence is and generate a score.

If NTLK has been imported, why are we needing to specify the positive, negative, and neutral words? The score that is generated doesn’t seem to be correct.

If someone could explain to me each part of this code and help me with the above questions in layman’s terms (as I’m pretty new to all of this) that would be amazing! :slight_smile:

import nltk.classify.util from nltk.classify import NaiveBayesClassifier from nltk.corpus import names import sys positive_vocab = [ 'excellent', 'amazing', 'enjoyed', 'oscar', 'outstanding', 'engrossing','funny','intense'] negative_vocab = [ 'batman and superman', 'boring', 'adam sandler', 'bland'] neutral_vocab = ['ok', 'watchable'] def word_feats(words): return dict([(word, True) for word in words]) positive_features = [(word_feats(pos), 'pos') for pos in positive_vocab] negative_features = [(word_feats(neg), 'neg') for neg in negative_vocab] neutral_features = [(word_feats(neu), 'neu') for neu in neutral_vocab] train_set = negative_features + positive_features + neutral_features classifier = NaiveBayesClassifier.train(train_set) neg = 0 pos = 0 sentence = "it was excellent despite adam sandler" sentence = sentence.lower() words = sentence.split() for word in words: classResult = classifier.classify( word_feats(word)) if classResult == 'neg': neg = neg + 1 if classResult == 'pos': pos = pos + 1 print('Positive: ' + str(float(pos)/len(words))) print('Negative: ' + str(float(neg)/len(words)))

Thanks in advance,
Mel

The Codebyte doesn’t work on my end (I submitted a bug report for it) so I copied your code and ran it in Colab.
The score was:
Positive: 0.3333333333333333
Negative: 0.6666666666666666