Saving data, controller.. completely lost on ex3 (& on course in general)

so i am a new programmer (2 months in), i ve done the python course and the Ruby course so far and read a couple of books and have the basic concepts of programming down from these courses, but on the RoR course the explanations don't seem to be there so i am lost. step 2 ex 3 on the saving data part i have ground to a halt. As mentioned in a previous post by someone else I feel as if i am simply following intructions with no explanations so i don't understand what i am doing on each step or why, for example.

step 2. In the routes file, create a route that maps the URL /messages to the Messages controller's index action.

1. what is the routes file?
  2. what is the purpose of the routes file?
  3. where is the routes file?
  4. how do i create a route?
  5. how do i know if the route that i created maps the URL /messages to the Messages controller's index action?
  6. what do i type in order to do this?
  7. what does URL/messages mean? and what is its purpose?
  8. what is the Messages controller's index action?
  9. what does the Messages controllers index action do?
  10. what is the purpose of the Messages controllers index action?
  11. ....etc