Saving A Dictionary to a File

I am pretty new to Python I am trying to take contents of my dictionary called python_diction( which is located in a larger file) and save that data to a new a new file called python_diction_saved.json. I feel like I am pretty close the error I am currently receiving is
f.write(json.dumps(python_diction_saved.json))
AttributeError: 'dict' object has no attribute 'json'

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

import json

f = open("test.py","w")
python_diction = {}
python_diction["items"] = []
python_diction["items"].append({"hello":1,"hi":2})
python_diction["items"].append({"hello":42,"hi":65})
python_diction["numbers"] = [1,2,3,5,7,8]
python_diction_saved = python_diction
f.write(json.dumps(python_diction_saved.json))
f.close()

f is the file you are writing to, what is between the brackets of dumps() is what you write to the file

Good point! Maybe I am executing this the wrong way. I have a dictionary in a file called test.py, this file contains other information besides the dictionary. What I am trying to do is take only the dictionary called python_diction and save that data to a new file called python_diction_saved.json. Any suggestions? Thanks!

yes, you are executing it the wrong way. You are currently writing to f, which is test.py

i know what you wanted to achieve. lets walk through my answer:

lets see what is in f:

f = open("test.py","w")

test.py, you didn't intent to write to test.py

I was actually hoping you could have made this leap on your own :wink:

Yes, that makes sense! Below is my new code, but I feel like I am overcomplicating this. Since the dictionary"python_diction" I want to write to another file is currently in the file test.py do I need to open and read through test.py first? With the below code I am currently getting ValueError: No JSON object could be decoded.

import json 
f = open("test.py","r")
python_obj = json.loads(f.read())
python_diction = {}
python_diction["items"] = []