Sal's Shipping - How to Improve My Code

I successfully completed the Sal’s Shipping challenge and then watched the video of the developer doing the code in order to see if he approached it more efficiently (he did). However, it was a bit frustrating because his answer relied on material we haven’t learned yet. As a former teacher, I don’t see the usefulness in showing an answer that relies on material that students have never seen. These tools ($%.2f and %s and how to combine them with variables) haven’t been taught as of this Sal’s Shipping challenge, so I wasn’t able to get much information on how to condense my code in the last part of the challenge.

Watching the video, I did learn/remember that I don’t need to repeat information covered in the first “if” clause (so, for example, I didn’t need to write:

elif weight > 6 and weight <= 10

I could’ve just written:

elif weight <=10

So in that respect, the video was helpful. I’d also like to note that I know that some of the mathematical parentheses aren’t necessary because of order of operations, but I preferred to include them to remind myself of what was happening (that the drone price was 3x the ground price). But thanks in advance to anyone who has any tips on how to improve the final (print) section of my code without using the two tools that we haven’t learned yet.

Without further ado:

flat_ground_charge = 20
def ground_ship_cost(weight):
  if weight <= 2: 
    cost = weight * 1.50 
  elif weight > 2 and weight <= 6:
    cost = weight * 3 
  elif weight > 6 and weight <= 10:
    cost = weight * 4 
  else:
    cost = weight * 4.75 
  return cost + flat_ground_charge

print(ground_ship_cost(8.4))

premium_ground_ship_cost = 125

def drone_ship_cost(weight):
  if weight <= 2: 
    cost = weight * (1.50*3) 
  elif weight > 2 or weight <= 6:
    cost = weight * (3.00*3) 
  elif weight > 6 or weight <= 10:
    cost = weight * (4.00*3) 
  else:
    cost = weight * (4.75*3) 
  return cost