Rock, Paper, Scissors Javascript Lesson

Hi there,

I am new to JavaScript (and programming as a whole). I have managed to write the code to how I believe it should be written, for it to work, however it keeps saying that I have undeclared variables/functions.

I have been spending the last 30 minutes looking through the ‘Hint’s’ section on the activity, and honestly looking back at it, the lesson doesn’t actually make sense, as they consistently change the names of the functions and variables.

Would someone be able to take a look at my code and amend where ive gone wrong.

Ive written the code exactly how the Codecademy lesson wants me to, but to no avail.

Here’s the GitHub link: https://gist.github.com/a3598a5febc2606f7a7742e930b1f280

Many thanks :slight_smile:

P.S. If anyone from Codecademy is reading this, and I am indeed correct in believing this lesson is not written properly… It is extremely disheartening to of spent time following the lesson, and then not to be able to achieve anything because im too confused by the instructions.

Hey Lewis,

At the bottom of your code, under the playGame function, pay attention to these two console.logs:

console.log('You threw: ' + userChoice());
console.log('The computer threw: ' + computerChoice());

Try removing the parenthesis attached to the userChoice and computerChoice, like so:

console.log('You threw: ' + userChoice);
console.log('The computer threw: ' + computerChoice);

I believe that is what’s causing the error, as userChoice and computerChoice are NOT functions by themselves, but rather they’re parameters of the function determineWinner. Try it out and let me know if it solves the problem you’re having :slight_smile:

On a side note, at the top of your code where you’re using switch statements, make sure to include the break keyword at the end of each code block, right after your return statement and a default statement at the end of the switch statement, like so:

switch (randomNumber) {
    case 0: