Rock, Paper, or Scissors - project walkthrough video mistakes

If you are lost with this project… please read on. It’s not your fault.

I must say as a beginner I was so frustrated with this project, not because it’s hard, but because the step by step video tutorial makes things even worse. I was following the video along and could not get my code to work several times. Then I noticed, the person who recorded this video, made a lot of mistakes they would then fix without saying anything in the video they went back and made changes.

Some examples: @ 6:19 he had written:
if (userInput === ‘rock’ || userInput =‘paper’ || userInput = ‘scissors’) then before he runs the code, the video gets cut (meaning the video was edited at that moment) and then the code runs wihtout issues.

But if you take a look @ 6:20 he went back to the code and correct it to
if (userInput === ‘rock’ || userInput === ‘paper’ || userInput === ‘scissors’) and of course this code will work.

But my issue is that he doesn’t say anything. Making it seem like there is no issue at all. If you were following the step by step instructions, you will be left with the code with errors, and if you don’t notice he made those changes on the video you might start to wonder why did he use === in the first instance, but = in the other 2 instances, I thought I was learning something new, but I was actually right the first time when I noticed something weird with only using 1 = sign.

My advice, watch the tutorial but don’t follow it step by step, wait until the tutor runs the code, and check the changes he has made without telling anybody. The same thing happens through the video, also when he wrote the GetComputerChoise, at first he used randomNUmber and then he corrects it to randomNumber without saying anything.

So if something doesn’t work, wait until he runs the code without issues and go back to your code and make the adjustments he made.