Review

https://www.codecademy.com/courses/python-intermediate-en-7mgOa/2/3?curriculum_id=4f89dab3d788890003000096#

My codes are running successfully, Thanks Code.cademy.

Basing on this "Who needs to pay for grade calculation software when you can write your own? :)", how can i save these codes using my IDLE (Python 3.6 32-bit) on my laptop to use it to calculate my students grades? i am a teacher . Thanks in advance for your guidance. any improvements need on the codes please.

grades = [100, 100, 90, 40, 80, 100, 85, 70, 90, 65, 90, 85, 50.5]

def print_grades(grades):
    for grade in grades:
        print grade

def grades_sum(grades):
    total = 0
    for grade in grades: 
        total += grade
    return total

def grades_average(grades):
    sum_of_grades = grades_sum(grades)
    average = sum_of_grades / float(len(grades))
    return average

def grades_variance(scores):
    average = grades_average(scores)
    variance = 0
    for score in scores:
        (average - score) ** 2
        variance = variance +  ((average - score) ** 2)
    return variance / len(scores)
def grades_std_deviation(variance):
    return variance ** 0.5
variance = grades_variance(grades)  
print grades_std_deviation(variance)
print print_grades(grades)
print grades_sum(grades)
print grades_average(grades)
print grades_variance(grades)
print grades_std_deviation(grades_variance(grades))

#any guidance much appreciated

you can use a text-editor to save the file as .py file, just like you would save it as any other file

then you can just run it with: python name_you_gave_to_file.py from command line

thank you, i saved it d.py, and when i double click on it nothing displays, it only blinks shortly and disappear . am new to these things, am sorry if i sound boring. asking is healthy than assuming you know.

Its because the program closes once it finishes running

what we could do is prompt the user for input to confirm they want to exit, add this code to the end: