Returns II (6/7) - Efficiency

Hello all. I’ve done a fair amount of JS dev in the past but I’m by no means a developer so I’m taking the JS class here to try and build a better foundation and deep dive on understanding how and why stuff works. As part of that I’ve noticed that the code you get when you “get answer” on this section seems to be quite redundant. Not a criticism of the teaching or anything just trying to understand at a deeper level.

I’ve added comments inline in the sample code below (Codecademy provided code) as well as my own code block after that. Just trying to understand efficiency here.

Codecademy provided code

var orderCount = 0;

function takeOrder(topping, crustType) {
  console.log('Order: ' + crustType + ' crust topped with ' + topping);
  orderCount = orderCount + 1;
}
//Runs every time, you pass in the itemCount (or orderCount) and it returns the math. Why not store the result in a variable?
function getSubTotal(itemCount) {
  return itemCount * 7.5;
}
//This requires taking the result you just got in the function above but rather has you rerun the function.
function getTax() {
  return getSubTotal(orderCount) * 0.06;
}
//This does the same, yet this time runs 3 functions to get the data that could have been had with one variable right?
function getTotal() {
  return getSubTotal(orderCount) + getTax();
}

takeOrder('bacon', 'thin');
takeOrder('pepperoni', 'regular');
takeOrder('pesto', 'thin');

console.log(getSubTotal(orderCount));

console.log(getTotal());

My understanding

var orderCount = 0;

}
//Set output from function in a variable (not using var because my understanding is that would scope it to use only within the variable itself). That may be incorrect or just not explained yet.
  subTotal = itemCount * 7.5;
  return subTotal;
}
//gets variable from above function and performs new math, stores that in a new variable
function getTax() {
  tax = subTotal * 0.06
  return tax;
}
//adds both previous variables, returns total