Return command clarification

Hello! I was just wondering about the return keyword when you use a function in python.

I understand that when you return a value in a function, that value can be saved as a variable. However, can variables be defined only by the values from a return statement?

For example, lets say I have this funciton:

def test_function(test_word)
print(test_word)

could I save the test_word as a variable? This is very basic and I’m new at Python so I may have the incorrect syntax, or not know about something I will learn down the road! But I would like to know if values in a functions return statement are the only things in a function that can be stored in a variable! Thanks.

Hello @terasolver28052. When you return something from a function, it hands the data back to the caller. So, yes, you could store the result of a function’s return to a variable:

def some_function():
  return 3
some_var = some_function
print(some_var)#will print 3, as that was what was returned from the function.

You can store data in variables inside the function:

def a_func():
   var = 3
   print(var)

This will print 3. Here is an article explaining variables inside and outside of functions, and how to use them

The only way you can store data from a function in a variable is if that function has the return keyword:

def a_fun():
    a_var = 3
another_var = a_fun()
print(another_var)#will print None, since there is nothing returned from
#the function, and therefore nothing to store in a variable

I hope this helps!

Okay, so if I’m understanding you correctly than if I tell a function to print “These words”, when I call it it will print “These words” but then if I try to store “These words” as a variable, it won’t work because I never returned “These words” in the function. Right?

1 Like

Yes-you are correct.

there’s no special relation between return and variables

if you have a value you can assign a variable to it.

a function accepts input and produces output.