Request for feedback on US Medical Insurance Cost Project

Hi there!

I just finished my first portfolio project from the Data Science career path and I am pretty satisfied how it turned out. Ofcourse I am still a novice so any form of constructive (or maybe even positive) feedback is more than welcome! I really want to improve by learning from you guys!

It took me around 5-7 hours to complete. Mainly because I was unable to stop combining more variables with eachother. When I started this project, I was quite confused of the goal of the project, because this project is less guided than previous projects. I had have some difficulty defining the scope of the project, which resulted in me being unable to stop at some point. Overall I had fun. I felt powerful when my code worked (sometimes at the first try) and I really think this project is a nice test of the fundamentals of my understanding of Python.

Enough talk, here is the link to my project!

Thanks in advance!
Cheers,
Mathieu

1 Like

Very descriptive! I learn a lot going through it!
Now i see i have a lack on analysis on my project, and the way you approached it is very simple and clear. Congratulations. Got me ideas to work with :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Congrats on completing the project. You do a good job of describing what youā€™re doing in the code cells and ppl can follow along with your thought processes and itā€™s clear that you understand how to use the csv library and write functions.

Iā€™m assuming that only the csv library has been taught thus far and not other libraries like Pandas. Youā€™re rightā€“thereā€™s a lot more one can do with this data set, once more libraries are known (Seaborn, Pandas, SciPy), along with creating data vizzes and writing functions for testing a difference between the means of 2 variables.
But, whatā€™s cool isā€“and youā€™re rightā€“you can get lost in the data while exploring it and it is fun! :slight_smile:

From one data person to another: