Remove_duplicates WHY DOES THIS WORK?

I've been working on the remove_duplicates exercise and took a peak at enavarro33's solution and can't figure out why this works. In particular, under what circumstances would if i != i ever be true? And why return i?

def remove_duplicates (x):
    p = []
    for i in x:
        if i != i:
            p.append(i)
    return i

i'm curious because I've been reading up on big-o and wanted to approach this looking for the shortest approximate runtime. Not sure if this is it, but I'm missing something here.

I'm new to all of this, but I'll try my best to follow your responses.

Thanks.

Well first off, what do you mean by "works"?
I'd decide on what correct behaviour is and then test for that. I wouldn't have proof of correctness that way but if the tests are extensive enough I'd call it "appears to work"
I think you did something else in deciding it works.

If something does nothing, then go ahead and remove it.

Best possible solution is O(N) because all elements have to be considered and testing if something has been seen before can be done in constant time with a hashmap.

What's in there is O(N2), but isn't doing its job very well and so can't be considered a solution to the problem.

Thanks, ionatan. I'm still working out a solution for myself, and I understand the hint it gave, I'm just not understanding with what's going on in the code I copied here.

Do you know what each part of it does? Execute it in your head or otherwise reason about what it does. It's just written instructions, you can very much reason about what their effect is.

If some particular part eludes you then ask about it. But as for what it does as a whole, it's very short and you may as well just practice reading code on this.

I have, im just not getting the "if i != i". isn't that like saying "if 1 != 1"? Any takers?

It is.