Ravenous part 3 - searchYelp method in App.js?

I am having trouble understanding the interaction between the components.

It seems more logical to me to have the searchYelp() method in SearchBar.js instead we have to put it in App.js

Would it be possible to have the searchYelp() method in SearchBar.js and how would you do that?

Can anyone provide an explanation?

Hi there.

I am fairly new to React, so my understanding and explanation may be wrong, but…

Having the searchYelp() function defined in the App component is, I think, an example of the programming pattern you’re introduced to in the Child Components Update their Siblings’ Props lesson.

The App component is stateful, and its state contains the property businesses which is where the list of businesses we want to display is stored. As a result, if we want to update that array, we need to set the state of the App component - meaning that we need to call this.setState() from inside the App component.

For this reason, searchYelp() is defined in App.js and the keyword this is bound to App.

The searchYelp() function is handed down to the SearchBar component, because the SearchBar is where the input fields are. When you actually do the search, the searchYelp() function gets its parameters from the SearchBar component but it changes the state of it’s parent - the App component.

Changing the state of App triggers React to render the component again, to reflect any changes. SearchBar won’t have changed, but the value of this.state.businesses which is passed to the BusinessList component as a prop has changed. BusinessList gets rendered again, with the data returned from Yelp.