Question on typeof operator when adding datatypes

Hi guys,

Im pretty new to coding and codecademy but enjoying it so far! On the full stack course and just on the end of the javascript syntax part 1 / module 2 on variables.

Pretty confident now with what i have learnt but not sure about the typeof operator. I understand how it works etc but if declare a new variable which adds two variables of differing types will it default to one or the other? Or is there some other magic going on?

Below i’ve added a number and text type under a new variable. Then when calling the typeof it says string.

Hope that makes sense and i’ve added the code as a codebyte? is that right?

Sure i’ll be on alot so looking forward to talking to some of you soon!

let text = "hello";

let number = "1"

let test = number+text;

console.log(test); //output: 1hello

console.log(typeof test); //output: string

Very good question! Types are a super important concept in programming and you are obviously thinking about them in some depth.

In reality, you can only add together data of the same type, so what JavaScript is doing under the hood is “type coercion”. So when you add the number 1 and the string “hello”, the JS interpreter actually converts the number 1 into the string "1" first.

In any case, you did the right thing by actually writing out the exploratory code and checking the results for yourself.

if declare a new variable which adds two variables of differing types will it default to one or the other? Or is there some other magic going on?